Why Jackson’s XSCAPE is all about the Money

Harry Chapman June 21, 2014 0
Why Jackson’s XSCAPE is all about the Money

Recently an album named XSCAPE was released to the public under the artist’s name of Michael Jackson. The album included the following tracks:

  1. Love Never Felt So Good
  2. Chicago
  3. Loving You
  4. A Place with No Name
  5. Slave to the Rhythm
  6. Do You Know Where Your Children Are
  7. Blue Gangsta
  8. Xscape

This post is about why the album XSCAPE shouldn’t have been released to the public in its current state, and I put emphasis on the word state.

In my personal opinion, Michael Jackson wrote and recorded the songs on the album therefore Michael Jackson has absolute right over the music that he has written. As a big fan of Michael I feel that what has been done to the tracks upon XSCAPE feels like a violation of what potentially could have been another powerful masterpiece. Michael had suffered negativity in all forms throughout with his life, but despite this he thrived in wanting to make the world a better place, and he felt the way he could do this was through his music.

I won’t go into the aspects of negativity outside of his music because that’s not what this post is about, but Michael was indeed the target of much un-fair scrutiny and I feel that the release of XSCAPE under Michael’s name is one of the most unfair things that have been done to his career. This is because XSCAPE is full of songs that were once perfect, but have been dragged through dirt and sold off as new by money making producers who think it’s acceptable to steal the work of a legend. Plain and simply said, If XSCAPE was to be released to the public then it should have been released in its original form only, and a large share of the funding should have gone to whichever family he stated in his will. I totally disagree that people must pay extra for the deluxe edition in order to hear the original tracks.

Those of you who will say ‘who cares how the music was released, the music by the King will live forever’… this is not the music of the King of Pop, this is the music of untalented money grabbing music producers who don’t care about the tracks as long as their wallets are full at the end of the day.

Several celebrities have expressed disappointment with the release of the new album, one of whom is Quincy Jones who previously worked with Michael on albums including ‘Off The Wall’, ‘Thriller’ and ‘Bad’.

Why Michael Jackson’s XSCAPE is all about the Money

He spoke of how he is bothered by the fact that posthumous music of Michael’s is being released and he thinks it’s about the producers earning money. Quote: “”They’re trying to make money. And I understand it. Everybody’s after money, the estate, and the lawyers. It’s about money.” Interestingly however, Quincy did file a law suit against projects tied to Michael in 2009 claiming that music that Quincy helped write had been changed, but certain elements still used that he hadn’t received back royalties for. So it seems Quincy is also keen to hop on the cash wagon.

This post is really to express to people the importance of understanding that this album is not a product or representation of Michael’s talent. He goes far beyond the boundaries of studio sounds that the producers of today stick to any track. Michael was and always will be one of the greatest artists and entertainers in the music industry and I implore the fans and newcomers to his music to stick to what Michael himself controlled the release of. I would also like to recommend listening to the original tracks from XSCAPE that haven’t been destroyed by money makers and wannabe’s like Justin Timberlake. Rest in Peace Michael.

The individual original XSCAPE tracks are available to buy on iTunes.

Share This Article – Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someoneShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on Reddit

Leave A Response »